Founding the Club

In May of 2007, and again in May of 2008, Guenter Loepertz and Dan Cramer set up a table at the Craft Fair at the Highland Adult Activities Center where they hoped to identify people who would like to form a coin collecting interest group (as well as stamp collecting, travelogue, and genealogy interest groups) at the Center. Because there wasn’t much interest in a coin collecting interest group at the Center, they decided to form a coin club that would draw members from numerous communities in the Huron Valley.

With the help of coin dealers John Mason (who had a local coin store and wanted to start a club focusing on numismatic education) and Chuck Sharpe, they brought about a dozen people together for an organizational meeting at the Center on October 23, 2008. In subsequent monthly meetings, with John doing the work of the Chair, Chuck doing the work of the Program Chair, Chuck’s wife Darlene doing the work of the Secretary/Treasurer, and tax preparer Karla Gerrard consulting, the group created a constitution and by-laws (using material available from the American Numismatic Society), secured a tax payer ID number, opened a bank account at Huron Valley State Bank, and rented a post office box in Highland Township. All the while, they flooded the area with flyers advertising the club

On November 9, 2009, with a membership of 22, the club elected its first officers and board members: Chair – Jim Motley, Program Chair – Chuck Sharpe, Secretary/Treasurer – Darlene Sharpe, and Board Members – Mike B, Dave Engel, Ken Glover, and Guenter Loepertz.

Charter Members

Fred Beksa, Mike B, Elmer Bowers, Randy Cooper, Dan Cramer, Chris Culham, Dave Engel, Ken Glover, Max Glover, Milo Glover, Chris Hickey, Karl Kern, Gary Kimmel, Guenter Loepertz, John Mason, Jim Motley, Chris Oldham, Al Raddi, Glen Ridgeway, Larry Rutka, Chuck Sharpe, Darlene Sharpe

HVNS Firsts



For a listing of our past HVNS Leaders Click HERE

For a past listing of our HVNS Programs Click HERE